Engaging Civil Society in Peacemaking – 1-Hour Free Webinar with Suzanne Ghais Sponsored by ACR International Section – August 2, 2017

Many have been calling for peace processes to be more inclusive, particularly of civil society. How this helps promote peace—and how mediators and peacebuilders can help—has been less clear.

In this webinar, which is hosted by Virtual Mediation Lab and sponsored by the Association for Conflict Resolution International Section, Suzanne Ghais overviews her research exploring how inclusion or exclusion of civil society affected peace processes in Liberia, Chad, and the Philippines. In these cases, civil society, when included, pressed for addressing underlying sources of conflict and helped build public support for the peace. Dr. Ghais will discuss the practical implications for peacebuilders in fragile and post-conflict societies, such as the many different ways civil society can contribute to a peace process, what to do where civil society is not well developed, and ways to support grassroots organizations in promoting peace.

Suzanne Ghais is principal at Ghais Mediation and Facilitation and an adjunct instructor at American University’s School of International Service. She recently completed her Ph.D. in international relations at American University (AU) with a focus on peace processes. She teaches two courses “Conflict Assessment and Prevention” and “International Negotiation” through AU’s online master’s program in international relations. Dr. Ghais is the author of “Extreme Facilitation: Guiding Groups through Controversy and Complexity” https://goo.gl/uEz1GN

WHEN AND HOW TO REGISTER
This 1-hour webinar will take place Wednesday, August 2, 2017 at 1:00pm Eastern Time (10:00am Pacific Time | 11:00am Mountain Time | Noon Central Time | 6:00pm London/UK Time). Admission is FREE, but seating is limited.

For more information and to register online click here - https://goo.gl/pbZJjn

Views: 14

Attachments:

Reply to This

@ADRHub Tweets

ADRHub is supported and maintained by the Negotiation & Conflict Resolution Program at Creighton University

Members

© 2017   Created by ADRhub.com - Creighton NCR.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service